Albany State University Inducts Eight New Members into Athletics Hall of Fame

Albany State University (ASU) is inducting eight new members in the Athletics Hall of Fame. The ASU Athletics Hall of Fame honors the men and women who have made significant contributions as players, coaches, administrators and alumni.  The ASU Athletics Hall of Fame celebrates the best of the best, honoring those who helped shape the face of Golden Ram Athletics and Darton College Athletics.  

The Induction Ceremony will take place on Friday, September 2, 2022 at 7 p.m. in the Event Center on the West Campus.  Individual tickets for the induction ceremony are $75. Tables of six are available for $400. Tickets may be purchased online at
To purchase tickets with a check:
Make checks payable to Albany State University Foundation
Drop check off at the Department of Athletics Front Office on the West Campus, Building E.
The deadline to purchase tickets is August 25, 2022.
For additional information, contact Alisia Taylor at 229-500-2863 or

The 2022 Athletics Hall of Fame includes an outstanding class featuring two meritorious service inductees, two long time coaches and four outstanding student-athletes.

The 2022 Meritorious Service inductees are Andy Christo and Jesse Massey.  


Andy Christo

Andy Christo started his philanthropic support of Darton College more than 30 years ago through the Matching Gift Program of the State Farm Insurance Companies.  In 1997, Andy began serving and assisting with the Darton College baseball program.  He served as the PA Announcer for Darton College and currently for the ASU baseball program.  For the 1999 and 2000 seasons, he served as a community coach under Glenn Eames.  From 2005-06, he served as an Associate Athletic Director to Todd Davis.  In 2005, Andy, through the Christo Family Endowment, endowed a scholarship that now benefits the current ASU Golden Ram baseball program.  Andy continues his annual philanthropic support of ASU.  In 2018, Andy retired after a 39 year career as a State Farm Insurance agent.  He has served previously on the Boards of Directors of the Phoebe Foundation, Albany ARC and Darton Boosters.  He is currently on the Board of Directors of the Darton Health Professions Foundation.  Andy has been married to Becky Kirkland Christo for 44 years with two children, Leann Christo- McGalliard and Greg Christo.  They have one grandson, Davis McGalliard.


Jesse Massey

Jesse Massey attended ASC from 1975-1980 and is a longtime volunteer and financial supporter for athletics at Albany State University.  Jesse serves as one of the voices for Golden Rams football games.  Massey is a longtime coordinator of the Albany State University National Youth Sports Program.  During the 2021-2022 season, Jesse served as a volunteer coach for the women's basketball program.  Jesse Massey also taught kindergarten, 1st grade, 2nd grade, 5th grade and middle school.  Massey coached middle school and high school sports that included being part of track & field and football region and state championships.  Massey has been a GHSA official for over 40 years.

The 2022 Coach inductees are Ken Veilands and Oliver Jones.


Ken Veilands

Ken started the men and women's soccer programs at Darton College.  Ken Veilands won the Region Coach of the Year 13 times while serving as the head soccer coach at Darton College.  Coach Veilands accumulated 267 wins as a head coach.  During his time as the head coach, Ken's teams made three national championship appearances, won eight region titles and made seven national tournament appearances. 


Oliver Jones

Oliver Jones was a member of the original Golden Rams basketball team from 1961 – 1964.  As the head coach of the Golden Rams, Coach Jones accumulated 415 career wins.  Jones led his team to the school's first SIAC Championship in 1972 – 1973 basketball season.  Jones' teams won six SIAC Championships.  The Jones Brothers HPER Complex floor is named the Oliver Jones Court to honor the numerous accomplishments of Coach Jones.

The 2022 Student-Athlete inductees are Anthony Cox, Harold Little, Joe Paige and Willie Seay.


Anthony Cox

Anthony Cox, known as "Bubba" to his teammates, was the starting center on three SIAC Championship football teams at Albany State College.  Anthony was an All SIAC center in 1985 and 1986 for the Golden Rams.  Cox was named the Offensive lineman of the Year in 1985 and 1986.  Cox participated in the Black All American Freedom Bowl in 1986 in Washington, DC.  Anthony also received the Athlete of the Year Award for his achievement in athletics and academics.


Harold Little

Harold Little, known as "Alabama Slim" to his teammates, was a KODAK All American Defensive End in 1972 – 1973 for the Golden Rams football team.  Harold was the Albany State College Boosters Athlete of the Year in 1972 – 1973.  Harold was an All SIAC member from 1972 – 1975.  Little was named the ASC Best All Around Athlete in 1973-1974.


Joe Paige Sr.

Joe Paige served as the team captain for cross country and track and field.   As a freshman, Joe was named indoor track and field All American.  Joe was an integral part of three consecutive SIAC track and field championships.  Joe set the SIAC record for track and field in the 800 meters, and he was a key member of the 4 x 400 relay that won the SIAC and qualified for nationals.  Joe competed in nationals in the 800 meters event for track and field. 


Frank Seay

Frank Seay won the SIAC 100 meters champion in 1976, 1977 and 1978.  Frank was also the 60 meters champion in the US Federation Championships and ASC Rams Boosters Athlete of the Year in 1977.  Frank set SIAC records in the 100 meter and 200 meters in 1979.  Frank was also featured in the Black Collegiate Sports Magazine.  In 1996, Frank carried the Olympic torch on the relay team in Stone Mountain, Georgia.  Seay appeared in a documentary called "As if we were Ghosts" that was shown on Georgia Public Broadcasting in June of 2022.