Albany State University Athletics 2022 Hall of Fame Inductees

The Albany State University (ASU) Department of Athletics is inducting eight new members into its Hall of Fame.  The ASU Athletics Hall of Fame formally recognizes outstanding contributions to the heritage and tradition of excellence of the Golden Rams. The 2022 inductees made a lasting impact as players, coaches, administrators, and alumni and shaped the Golden Ram and Cavalier Athletics programs into today’s Albany State University Golden Rams

The 2022 Athletics Hall of Fame class includes two meritorious service inductees, two long-time coaches, and four outstanding student-athletes.

The 2022 Meritorious Service inductees are Andy Christo and Jesse Massey.  

Andy Christo

  • Darton College Public Address Announcer (1997 – 2012)
  • Darton College Community Baseball Coach (1999 – 2001)
  • Darton College Associate Athletics Director (2005 – 2006)
  • Financial supporter for Darton College and Albany State University

Jesse Massey

  • Long-time volunteer in athletics at Albany State University
  • One of the voices of Golden Rams football
  • Longtime coordinator of the ASU National Youth Sports Program
  • Financial supporter for Albany State University

The 2022 Coach inductees are Ken Veilands and Oliver Jones.

Ken Veilands

  • Region Coach of the Year 13 Times at Darton College
  • 267 Wins
  • 3 National Championship Appearances
  • 8 Region Titles
  • 7 National Tournament Appearances

 Oliver Jones

  • Member of the original Golden Rams basketball team from 1961 – 1964
  • 415 career wins as the Head Basketball Coach
  • Led the team to the school’s first SIAC Championship in 1972 – 1973 basketball season
  • Won 6 SIAC Championships

The 2022 Student-Athlete inductees are Anthony Cox, Harold Little, Joe Paige, and Willie Seay.

Anthony Cox

  • Starting center on (3) SIAC Championship football teams
  • All SIAC center in 1985 & 1986
  • Offensive Lineman of the Year in 1985 & 1986
  • Participated in the Black All American Freedom Bowl in 1986

Harold Little

  • KODAK All American Defensive End in 1972 – 1973 football season
  • ASC Boosters Athlete of the Year in 1972 – 1973
  • All SIAC Member from 1972 - 1975 

Joe Paige

  • Set the SIAC record for track and field in the 800 meters
  • Team Captain for cross country & track and field
  • Competed in the National 800 meters event for track and field 

Willie Seay

  • SIAC 100 meters champion in 1976, 1977 & 1978
  • 60 meters champion in the US Federation Championships in 1977
  • Set SIAC records in the 100 meter and 200 meters in 1978
  • Featured in the Black Collegiate Sports Magazine

The ASU Athletics Hall of Fame Class of 2022, will be honored during a special ceremony on September 2, 2022, at 7 p.m. at the Event Center on West Campus.